Qualifying for a Medical Marijuana Card in Maine

So you have a condition with symptoms that are difficult to manage, and you feel like you’ve tried everything on the market. Well, besides medical marijuana. 

If you live in Maine, you’re in luck: the regulations are some of the least restrictive, meaning that you may have a good chance of qualifying for a medical cannabis card. 

We’ve outlined everything you need to know about the state laws, the application process, and why you might consider applying for a medical marijuana card in the first place.

Who qualifies for medical cannabis in Maine?

In order to be eligible for medical marijuana use, you must be:

  • At least 18 years old, with  a letter of recommendation from a primary care or specialty office if you’re under 21
  • A resident of Maine with a state-issued ID

Unlike most states, there are no qualifying conditions to obtain a medical marijuana card in Maine. Instead, it’s up to a medical provider to decide whether you would benefit from medical cannabis use. 

How do I get a medical marijuana card in Maine?

Contact us at Canna Care Docs in Maine to schedule an appointment or book a telemedicine appointment online. You’ll meet with one of our licensed healthcare practitioners, talk to them about your condition(s), and they’ll determine whether medical cannabis is right for you.

Once you’ve been approved, we will mail your certification to you. You can then use this certification to apply for a medical marijuana card in Maine. It’s that easy!

How much does it cost?

The cost of obtaining a medical marijuana card in Maine is $50 for a new application and $50 for annual renewal.

What are the benefits of getting a medical marijuana card in Maine?

Since recreational marijuana was legalized in Maine in 2016, anyone can purchase cannabis by visiting an adult-use dispensary. So why would you bother getting approved for medical use? 

There are several perks of having a medical marijuana card in Maine. The following are just a few of the reasons why it’s beneficial to be a cardholder:

  1. Medical cannabis products aren’t taxed.

Since Maine taxes marijuana at 10%, this can save you a lot of money when you visit the dispensary.

  1. You don’t have to wait until you’re 21.

That’s right — the minimum age to purchase adult-use marijuana is 21, while medical cannabis use is legal for residents ages 18+.

  1. You can legally grow  more cannabis than recreational users.

In the state of Maine, both medical and recreational users can possess up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis, including up to 5 grams of concentrate. But the law differs when it comes to possessing and growing your own marijuana plants at home. 

Recreational cannabis users can possess a maximum of:

  • Three mature plants
  • 12 immature plants
  • Unlimited seedlings

Medical cannabis users can possess a maximum of:

  • Six mature plants
  • 12 immature plants
  • Unlimited seedlings

Interested? We’ll help you get started!

If you think medical marijuana might be the right choice for you, we’re here to help. Contact Canna Care Docs of Maine to schedule an appointment. We’ll answer any questions you may have and guide you through the next steps!


  • Share the joy